Back in Action

3 Jul

{Dress: Joe Fresh, Skirt: Ricki’s, Shoes: Payless}

In breaking news; I found my camera last night. It only took about 4 hours of re-organizing and cleaning to realize that it was hidden in plain sight.

Losing my mind camera was just the breaking point in a series of events that was leading me to the realization that I need to make some changes in the way I maintain my home. It’s not that we are overly messy people (things are pretty hygienic around here). It’s more about how we store things and the fact that we rarely put them back were we got them from. This isn’t a new problem, it’s something I’ve struggled with for years. And for as long as I can remember I’ve sort of laughed it off as a symptom of being creative. Unfortunately, that’s not working for me anymore.

A few days ago I was late for work and couldn’t find the store key, the next day I lost my camera, and the day after I couldn’t find my daughter’s birth certificate. All of this ultimately led to a really good cry and a sudden realization that I needed to make some changes. My normal approach would be to try to tackle everything at once; rip the house apart, buy new storage bins, and then leave everything half done. But, my new (and trying to be improved) self, is going a softer route with some good intentions a la Jess from Make Under My Life. So here they are, my organizational intentions:

  1. Make the bed every morning
  2. Clear the dining table and my desk every evening
  3. Plan my day the night before
  4. Teach other family members where things belong
I’ve committed myself to trying this for the next 30 days. In addition, I’m not going to buy a single basket, box, or bin and instead try to re-organize and re-position things in the house with what I’ve already got.
Wow, that was pretty heavy for a blog about clothes. Speaking of which; did you notice that I wore a dress as a top today? I was pretty impressed with myself!
Wondering what the 16 of 30 is all about? It has nothing to do with fractions! I took the 30 of 30 challenge…more details here
One Response to “Back in Action”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Double Whamy « Pink Chai - July 13, 2011

    […] I’m a little behind on posting my 30 for 30 outfits because of the whole lost camera and swollen face issues, I’m posting a double-whamy today. I noticed when I was uploading […]

Leave a Reply

