30 for 30 Items

12 Jun

I’ve been talking about it all week, and the 30 the for 30 is finally here, tomorrow is day one of the month-long challenge. The concept (started by Kendi) is simple; choose 30 items from your closet and remix them into 30 outfits over 30 days. The idea is to learn to appreciate what you already have in your wardrobe and work with it before rushing out to buy new things all the time.

Since I’ve recently gone through the big closet purge and have been trying to make better decisions about what to add to my wardrobe, it seems like the perfect challenge for me. So, here are my 30 for 30 picks:

tee shirts 30 for 30

Even though Kendi recently relaxed the “rules” for the 30 for 30 challenge, I’m sticking to the original no shopping rule. I’m not a big shopper anyways, but I think restricting myself will force me to really appreciate the clothes I have. Plus, the time I would normally spend hunting for amazing thrift store finds, I can now spend on finishing some sewing projects.

In case your wondering, I haven’t included accessories and have allowed myself free reign over my stash for the challenge. I figure if it will help with the whole maximizing your wardrobe idea.

Well that’s it, wish me luck!

Also, in the interest of full disclosure; there are three items I will be wearing this month that I didn’t include. I work at a retail greeting card store twice a week and my uniform is black pants, white tee-shirt, and black cardigan. I decided to leave those out of the challenge since I don’t really have a choice in the matter there. 

18 Responses to “30 for 30 Items”

  1. 22yo Girl June 13, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Good luck! I’m picking my 30 for 30 today and it’s great seeing what someone else picked. 🙂

  2. Nav June 13, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    love your choices! Green cardi, blue shoes, orange and blue dress and cute tops – this is fun following each other. and next time I be in vancouver, i will pack my dress you liked and you can def borrow it!

    xo Nav

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stage Fright « Pink Chai - June 13, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? Get caught up on the 30 for 30 challenge here.  […]

  2. An Open Letter to Summer « Pink Chai - June 14, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? Get caught up on the 30 for 30 challenge here.  […]

  3. Nothing to Write Home About « Pink Chai - June 15, 2011

    […] details that I even considered not posting these pictures and just adding a day to the end of the challenge, but somehow that didn’t seem […]

  4. Pink Chai - June 18, 2011

    […] Wondering what the numbers are all about? Get caught up on the 30 for 30 challenge here. […]

  5. Country Girl « Pink Chai - June 18, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? Catch up on the  30 for 30 challenge here. […]

  6. 30 for 30: Week 1 « Pink Chai - June 20, 2011

    […] Wondering what the heck is going on? Check out more details on the 30 for 30 challenge here […]

  7. Hello Sunshine! « Pink Chai - June 21, 2011

    […] Wondering what the 30 for 30 challenge is all about? Details here […]

  8. From the 50′s « Pink Chai - June 22, 2011

    […] included this skirt in my 30 for 30 pieces to try and stretch my creative muscles a little, but so far this is all I could come up with. I […]

  9. Flashback « Pink Chai - June 23, 2011

    […] about all the numbers? Find out more on the 30 for 30 here. Don’t worry, it’s not a math […]

  10. Fishing for Compliments « Pink Chai - June 25, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? Check out the 30 for 30 challenge here […]

  11. 30 for 30: Week 2 Recap « Pink Chai - June 26, 2011

    […] Two things I learned this week; taking pictures anytime between 8am – 6pm in the summer can result in overexposed disasters like outfit number 7, and I really should have included more tops in my 30 items. […]

  12. Copy Cat (or Monkey) « Pink Chai - June 27, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? Check out more details on the 30 for 30 challenge here. […]

  13. Better Than Meatloaf « Pink Chai - June 29, 2011

    […] Wondering what all the numbers are about? (Or why I keep wearing the same clothes?) I took the 30 for 30 challenge. For more details click here. […]

  14. I Have a Confession to Make…. « Pink Chai - June 30, 2011

    […] Wondering what the numbers are all about? I took the 30 for 30 challenge. More details here. […]

  15. Back in Action « Pink Chai - July 3, 2011

    […] Teach other family members where things belong I’ve committed myself to trying this for the next 30 days. In addition, I’m not going to buy a single basket, box, or bin and instead try to re-organize and re-position things in the house with what I’ve already got. Wow, that was pretty heavy for a blog about clothes. Speaking of which; did you notice that I wore a dress as a top today? I was pretty impressed with myself! Wondering what the 16 of 30 is all about? It has nothing to do with fractions! I took the 30 of 30 challenge…more details here […]

  16. Look Ma, It’s My Face! « Pink Chai - July 10, 2011

    […] Wondering what the remix is all about? More details here […]

Leave a Reply

