Time Crunch?

25 May

Dress: H&M, Jacket: Sirens, Shoes: Payless

I had an interesting experience this morning in the school playground. While we were waiting for the first bell and exchanging pleasantries, one of the other moms pointed out how lucky I am to have all the time in the world to get dressed in the morning. You know, because I work from home and all (insert grumpy face and eye roll here).

This isn’t the first time I’ve heard someone say that they don’t have time to get dressed everyday, but I wonder; is it really a time issue? I have two young kids, work full-time from home and, have a part-time job, however, I still manage to keep myself at least slightly pulled together most of the time. I definitely don’t look like I came straight off the runway, but I also don’t look like I just rolled out of bed. My opinion on this whole “lack of time” issue is that it’s really about giving yourself permission to put yourself first, even if it’s just for a few minutes a day. Women in general (and moms in particular) always put the needs of others ahead of their own, and saying you don’t have enough time is just another way to move yourself to the bottom of the list.

While I don’t know how to add any extra time to your day, I hope that my outfits are easy enough that it inspires you to take a few minutes to put together a look for yourself. In fact today’s outfit is the ultimate time saver; basic shirt dress + cropped denim jacket = 1.5 minutes of assembly time.

What do you wear when you have absolutely no time to get dressed?

2 Responses to “Time Crunch?”

  1. StylishDesi.com May 27, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    We never believe when people say ‘they don’t have time’ Translation: they don’t care – else, they would make time.

    http://www.stylishdesi.com
    http://www.stylishdesi.com/blog

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dressy Friday « Pink Chai - June 3, 2011

    […] about what I’m wearing right now? It’s the dress I wore here, with the cardigan I wore […]

Leave a Reply

