I Made That: Black & White Skirt

5 May

Tee: Smart Set, Skirt: Self Made, Shoes: Wal-Mart

I’m so excited about today’s outfit post because it includes the first thing I’ve sewn in over two years. It wasn’t really complicated to put together, but it sure felt great to create something myself.

A few month’s ago I started to follow Jessica Quirk’s blog What I Wore and was instantly obsessed with her outfits, but equally impressed with her self made clothing. It really got me thinking about starting to sew again. Seeing as how I’m on a shoestring budget for clothing and have more yards of fabric then I can count, it seems like the perfect time.

I thought about starting with one of the many vintage patterns that I’ve collected over the years, but that seemed a bit to courageous. Instead, I went with a simple wrap skirt pattern from the early 90’s, (that’s sort of vintage isn’t it?)

Wrap Over Detail

Wrap Skirt Pattern, circa 1994

Who knows, maybe I’ll take on one of these next week!

4 Responses to “I Made That: Black & White Skirt”

  1. shannon May 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Hello Raj!
    I am a new blogger on IFB, and i want to congratulate you on being chosen for this week’s Links A lA Mode.
    I noticed that you make some of your own clothing, which is really impressive. That’s what i want to do, too, once i learn how to.
    I want to ask you how i can register for Links a la mode. The link to register on the site is not working. I’d appreciate it if you reply. Keep up with the great work.

    Shannon

    • rajthandhi May 6, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Hey Shannon,
      Congrats on the new blog! I just started sewing again after about two years so I’m really excited about it. I hope to post a new piece of clothing each week. Fingers crossed.
      (I’ll also send you an email on how to register for links a la mode!)
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Laura Wainman May 9, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    What a cute skirt!! I love the classic black and white, with the modern fit. Very nice and so impressive that you made it!

    Just found you through Links A La Mode and I really love your blog! New follower 🙂

    • rajthandhi May 9, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks Laura. I actually found that fabric at a thrift store for $1.99, sometimes I can’t believe my luck! It was nice to sew something after so long, and I’ve actually started a new project that I’m hoping to showcase this week.

Leave a Reply

