Taking Stock

4 May

Last week I talked about cleaning out my closet and purging all the clothing that didn’t make me look or feel good. It wasn’t an easy process, but I really believe it was necessary for me to start with a clean slate so I can build a wardrobe I love and truly reflects me. 

After living with my almost bare closet for nearly two weeks, I was itching to go shopping. It seems reasonable right? I gave away so much (as you can see here), so going on a shopping trip seemed like a natural next step. The problem with rushing out to shop is; my budget is really tight (almost non-existent right now), and I don’t want to end up with a closet full of average choices once again. The solution? A shopping trip in my own, newly cleaned closet.

I went through and played with different outfit ideas, tried on things that I’d never worn together, and was surprised to find some great outfits in there! While I was playing dress-up, I also inventoried my closet and this is what I came up with:

Jeans 2
Dress Pants 2
Shorts 1
Skirts (knee-length, pleated) 2
Skirts (a line) 7
Dresses (everyday) 8
Dresses (formal) 3
Tees (short sleeve) 6
Tees (long sleeve) 8
Button Down Shirts (long sleeve) 1
Button Down Shirt (short sleeve) 4
Tops (any occasion) 4
Cardigans 6
Blazers 1
Sweaters 3
Coats (spring) 1
Trench Coats 2
Jackets 3
Shoes 12 pairs

As you can see, there is an obvious imbalance of tops to bottoms in my closet. Yep, I’m a little bottom heavy (stop snickering, those are my post-baby hips). This was really surprising to me since I always feel like I have too many tops and not enough bottoms. Funny how an over-flowing closet clouds our judgement.

Now that I know exactly what is in my wardrobe, I was able to create a “shopping list” of sorts. Basically, I sat down and made a huge list of all the things I would like to add to my closet, and then I edited it down to the essentials that I really need. You can view my current needs list by clicking here.

I know it looks long and overwhelming, keep in mind that I have no particular time frame in which to make all those purchases. The idea here isn’t to rush out and buy everything on your list. It’s more about saving yourself from making poor shopping decisions when you are on a limited budget or re-building your entire wardrobe.

Do you have any suggestions for must-have pieces for my new wardrobe? Please share a comment below!

Leave a Reply

