No Photographic Evidence Available

13 Apr

I’m not going to show you a picture of what I wore today because it really isn’t worth sharing. As I mentioned on Monday, the great closet purge is now underway and every piece of clothing I own is strewn across my room in piles, bags, and baskets, even my desk is completely covered. It certainly isn’t a pretty site and neither am I. That is why there is no photographic evidence of the outfit I wore today (no it was not sweatpants), but it was pretty pathetic.

Going through my entire closet for the last two days (and trying on almost every piece of clothing) has made me realize the following:

  • I only own two pairs of pants besides my everyday jeans. This may be the reason why I can never find any pants to wear.
  • At the beginning of the purge I had 14 skirts, 12 of which were pencil and there were no matching shirts for at least 5 of them.
  • I do not own any button down shirts in basic colours, and the ones I did have (notice the past tense)  were all ill-fitted or pretty juvenile looking. Have I been shopping in the juniors section by accident?
  • I owned hundreds (okay more like 25 pairs) of nylons and at least 80% had runs in them. Unless I’m going to start a new trend soon, no reason to hang on to those.
  • Every jacket/coat that I own is printed, colourful, or otherwise un-neutral. I’m sure I once bought a camel coloured pea coat, or maybe that was just something I dreamt about?

The most surprising discovery however is; most of the items in my wardrobe exist peacefully on their own but don’t really match up with anything else in my closet. Actually, it’s almost like several different people bought all of the individual pieces and then forced them on each other. This of course has gotten me thinking of a deeper issue than closet organization; what is my personal style? Or, do I even have one?

Unfortunately, it’s been a long day and I don’t quite have the brain power to work on discovering my personal style right now, but I will leave with a picture of all the loot that I hauled off to thrift today. Yeah me!

2 Responses to “No Photographic Evidence Available”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Making The Cut « Pink Chai - April 26, 2011

    […] Luckily, that’s not how it ended this time. As I was trying to squeeze all of those “guilty” clothes into my tiny closet I had an AHA! moment. Over the last 4 years we’ve had to move 5 times for various reasons, and every time we moved, I packed, carried, unpacked, and wrestled with this guilt everywhere we went. Now that we’ve made the decision to stay where we are until we buy a home of our own it seems ridiculous to give precious space to such a horrible feeling. And just like that, it became easy to give away all those impulse buys, pre-baby dresses, and just plain ugly clothes. (To see how much stuff I gave away click here) […]

  2. Taking Stock « Pink Chai - May 4, 2011

    […] weeks, I was itching to go shopping. It seems reasonable right? I gave away so much (as you can see here), so going on a shopping trip seemed like a natural next step. The problem with rushing out to shop […]

Leave a Reply

