Friend Friday: Most Important Blogging Lessons

19 Mar

Being relatively new to the blog world (Pink Chai launched on Feb 14th) it seems a bit premature to be writing about important blogging lessons, but that’s the topic for Friend Friday so I’m going to run with it. Friend Friday is a project created by Modly Chic as a way for fashion bloggers to share more about themselves and create connections with fellow bloggers. I’m actually looking forward to participating in this weekly feature as a way to connect with readers and the blogging community!

On a side note; I realize it’s Saturday today but chose not to post this yesterday to show my support for the bloggers day of silence for Japan.


So here are my top 5 blogging lessons for fashion and style bloggers:

Take More Pictures Than You Need:

The first week of blogging I only took about 2 shots per outfit, not enough! Trust me you need to take lots of pictures to choose one that works. In fact, I just read a stat somewhere that says for every ten frames shot, only one image is general usable. I’m not very comfortable taking pictures of myself (yet) but I’ve found it is getting easier everyday.

Schedule/Plan Your Posts:

As a writer I completely understand that some days inspiration strikes and it doesn’t matter what’s on the editorial calendar, you just have to run with your story. On the flip-side, there are days when there isn’t a drop of inspiration, that’s when a pre-written post or list of ideas can really save your sanity. I don’t have a very sophisticated system for planning posts, just a pretty little notebook I keep with me all the time to jot down ideas and inspiration. Another way to plan your posts is by having a weekly feature, just like Modly Chic has created with FBFF, or Emily at Cupcakes and Cashmere does with 5 Things. If you decide to do a feature, work at creating something original and unique to your blog.

Plan for Days Off:

As with any new project I’ve been overwhelmed and excited by this blog and in my early zest I may have over-committed. Without really doing my research I thought it would be a great idea to take a picture of myself every single day; epic fail. Even creativity and style need to take Sunday’s off. My new plan is to try to post outfit pics 3-4 times a week.

Network With Other Bloggers/Fashion People:

Just like any other industry there is a huge community of fashion and style bloggers that are out there and open to connecting. I’ve already met some great online friends through twitter, Facebook, and forums. Read their blogs, comment, reach out in a genuine way and they won’t disappoint! (PS: If you want to connect with me I’m on twitter, or you can email me pinkchailove(at)gmail.com)

Be Authentic:

I haven’t ready every post on the Friend Friday list, but I would wager that at least 99% of them include this suggestion. There is just no way around authenticity. This includes every part of your blog; posts, outfits, recommendations, everything. I wrote a post about intentions, and was really scared to share it with the whole wide interweb world, but the comments were amazing and uplifting. It really showed me that readers reward honesty and authenticity.





 

Leave a Reply

