Once Upon A Time In Mumbai…..

13 Mar

Okay the wedding wasn’t really in Mumbai it was in Vancouver, but I was on total Bollywood overload this weekend. The colours, textures, tastes, and sounds of Indian weddings always make me feel like I’m walking around in a film set straight out of B-town.

Here’s a little peek at the 4 days of fun!

On Friday night the grooms side hosted a “Sangeet” party for all of the women to get together dance, laugh, eat, and get their groove on. The only hitch was they forgot about decorations, so me and my team of experts (as seen below) were called in to create centerpieces a few hours before the party. Under a serious time (and budget) crunch, we hit the local dollar store and came up with these:

They’re not spectacular by any means, but better than empty tables. We went with pink and green for centerpieces but I also managed to find one of those metal tea light holders in yellow, it kind of reminded me of the bird-cage I wrote about here. (PS: if you ever need last-minute decor, my design team is available after school and on weekends.)

And of course, no wedding related post would be complete without some outfit pictures:

To see more pictures from the wedding or full length outfit shots, check out my flickr page!

2 Responses to “Once Upon A Time In Mumbai…..”

  1. Tanvi March 14, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    You are looking lovely in that Saree! 🙂

    • rajthandhi March 15, 2011 at 10:38 am #

      Thanks Tanvi! It’s Vintage..from the 70’s. I love old saris.

Leave a Reply

