Project 365 – No Sweatpants Allowed!

21 Feb

Update: I realized shortly after writing this post that fashion blogging is harder than it looks and it takes a lot of time to shoot, edit, and upload pics. So, I am now trying to load as many as possible on a weekly basis, and am giving myself a break on Sundays!

I’m a mom and I hate sweatpants. Honestly, I can’t stand seeing people wear them anywhere but the gym. I especially can’t understand why they have become the national uniform for motherhood. Whenever I question my mom friends about this unsightly wardrobe staple they say; sweat pants are so comfortable, I don’t have time to dress up, nothing fits, etc., etc.

Newsflash; I’m a mom (with two kids), full-time entrepreneur, crazy busy, and I have image issues like everyone else, but I don’t think sweatpants are the solution to my problems. In fact, I think they once caused me a lot of problems. When my son was born almost 7 years ago, I suffered from undiagnosed postpartum depression. Before his arrival I was a busy career woman who got dressed for work every morning, and went out most evenings, but all of a sudden I had nowhere to go and my outfit of choice became sweatpants. Every day I would pull on a pair of fuzzy pants and neglect taking care of myself, because I thought that was the right thing to do. It took me almost 8 months to get out of my “funk” and realize that washing my hair everyday, dressing up, and tea breaks weren’t luxuries, but rather necessities for a new mom.

So, I promptly threw away every pair of sweatpants and never looked back. I am in no way a style icon, in fact I might not even be stylish at all. But nevertheless, I am going to document my escapades in eclectic wear on this blog for the next year (at least). I won’t be posting every picture here, but I will upload a daily photo to my Project 365 folder on Flickr. Feel free to follow along!

This is my picture from day one. My sister and I headed downtown for lunch in Gastown and then went window shopping at Pottery Barn for some home decor inspiration.

Share

4 Responses to “Project 365 – No Sweatpants Allowed!”

  1. Twirly Skirts February 22, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    ya for no sweatpants! go go go!

  2. Jackie February 22, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    I agree with you Raj! Another really important point to make is that when most of us are sporting our elastic pants we are more prone to make bad food choices; that we don’t notice if our waistline is growing each and every day. Consider how you feel when you are wearing your jeans or a pair of fitted trousers; you are more aware of what you put in your mouth. I think we not only look slimmer and more put together even in our casual wear,we also make smarter food choices. Just saying!

  3. Hanonatonton March 7, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    pick your battles. with all that goes on in the world this is the hill you stick your flag in? relax. the sweat pants moms are judging you for overdressing.

    • rajthandhi March 7, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Thanks for commenting! I’m absolutely not judging Moms who wear sweat pants, it’s just been my personal experience that I feel much better when I’m not wearing them. My battle isn’t with sweat pants, but rather with the idea that Moms don’t have the time to take care of themselves, and that we shouldn’t put ourselves first. I’ve learnt over the 7 years that I’ve been a Mom that when I take care of myself I take better care of my family.

Leave a Reply

